Instructions - A Writing's Tale

Hello World!

Hi!

My name is Ana, and I'm a Portuguese technical writer.

I've been fortunate enough to always know (at least since I was six) what I wanted to be: a writer. I was even more fortunate to be able to make a career and a living out of that passion.

Instructions are present in our daily lives (for instance, you can't go from your elevator to the street without seeing instructions, even if they're just street signs). However, most of the time, we never even think that somewhere, somehow, someone was in charge of writing them. It's challenging to trace the origins of technical writing, but we can say that Leonardo da Vinci was one of the most famous technical writers.

As for me, I've been a technical writer since 2019, and I found it to be more fascinating than I ever imagined. In fact, back in 2019, I never knew that "Technical Writer" could be a profession. And there are more people who think this way. It's true that this has changed over the years, but there are still many tech companies that don't see documentation (and, therefore, technical writers) as a priority. So how can they scale? Well, this is a topic for its own post.

For now, I will just leave you with this introduction article. The goal of this blog is to create awareness around technical writing and, of course, to share knowledge. What good is knowledge if it's not shared?

I will be posting articles about my professional activities, thoughts, and ideas about writing, communication, truth, knowledge-sharing, growth, and more.

Feel free to write me.

Enjoy!

Ana